Book Review: Science Fiction: A Historical Anthology

Cover of "Science Fiction: A Historical A...
Cover via Amazon

Science Fiction: A Historical Anthology by Eric S. Rabkin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

By far, the best collection on the market before the millennials appeared on the shelves. If you are looking for a good starter reader begin here and then move into either Bradbury, Heinlein, or Asimov next. They are all in the anthology with good core example pieces to read. This was the core text of my SciFi lit class at Marshall. Really opened me view up beyond the 1990s pulp SciFi that I had been reading.

SciFi should be read for both its short stories and novels. Too many people today get caught in the prolonged epics generated by publishing houses and miss all of the great works being published in the magazines of the day.

View all my reviews

