Book Review: Grounded in the Gospel

Grounded in the Gospel: Building Believers the Old-Fashioned WayGrounded in the Gospel: Building Believers the Old-Fashioned Way by J.I. Packer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I borrowed this from my pastor and read it to see what I thought. The first two-thirds of the book breakdown the ideas of catechism and how it currently looks in the Orthodox, Catholic, and Protestant churches. The history, background materials, and comparison charts are a wonderful read for those not knowledgeable; but as a whole, it reads more like a seminary textbook instead being intended for the average layman. The last third of the book would be most beneficial to Pastors and lay leaders looking to build “new members” classes and redeveloping the Sunday School program. The major idea being the creation of the three tiered program of classes that identify new believers, growth and discipleship of followers, and the mentoring of believers and leaders of the church.

View all my reviews

Enhanced by Zemanta
