Following Christ is a complete paradox of thought. He is my king and salvation but I do no work unless I know him. He died for me instead of my sacrifices to save him. He is the Alpha and Omega; however, he taught me that my life had to end before it ever really began. How many things do we hold on to instead of giving away? We gain so little by blindly following the world; yet, so much we gain from Him. 

Quote from Joshua Becker:

Generous people learn to find joy in what they already possess. They discover that the secret to contentment is surprisingly close at hand.

So if a misguided search for contentment is motivating your pursuit of too much, my advice is that you take control of your attitude. Don’t engage in when-and-then thinking: When I get _________, then I will be happy. Instead, remember that your happiness does not depend on your acquisition of possessions. Your happiness is based solely on your decision to be happy.

I can do all things through him who strengthens me.
Philippians 4:13 ESV

http://bible.com/59/php.4.13.ESV

